‘It’s okay to have an off-day, it’s okay to break down and cry … But then it’s important to get back up’

Her smile would light up any room; inside she was tortured by dark thoughts, which left her feeling so empty she’s made four attempts to take her own life.

It’s one of the most common types of mental illness.

But Gwyneth Hume, from Kelso, says Borderline Personality Disorder (BPD) is still widely misunderstood.

The 21-year-old survivor is opening up on her battle with BPD to help raise awareness and encourage others to seek help.

She told Radio Borders News: “If I had one message for someone who’s struggling, I’d say it’s really important to look at yourself as an individual. Sometimes you have to be selfish and put yourself first.”

“I went through an absolutely horrific heartbreak in January and I didn’t think I’d ever get over that. And then I was like: ‘Do you know what? It’s time for me to build my own life.’ Because you need to think about making yourself happy before you even think about making anyone else happy.”

While, on the outside, Gwyneth’s smile would light up any room; inside she was tortured by dark thoughts, which left her feeling so empty she’s made four attempts to take her own life.

She said: “This last attempt on my life has made me realise I don’t actually want to die, but I want my life how it is to end. So I think that’s what made me think I need to speak out about what’s going on.”Continue reading…

Source: planetradio.co.uk

Author: Rayna Vaun

Mom, Crisis Counselor, Child Advocate, Publicist, Freelance Writer, lover of sand, sun and everything outdoors! Join me on Twitter: @RaynaVaun